Riding the Roller Coaster

According to a 1995 Harvard study, depression or bipolar disorder is frequently linked with artistic talent or creativity. About 5% of the general population is affected at some point with major depression and 1% with bipolar affective disorder, while anywhere from 25% to 75% of artists in each group studied showed signs of one or both of these disorders.

So maybe I don’t have the genius part, but I’m definitely doing pretty good with the depression/bipolar part. Yay me.

I’m resisting the urge to go into a long soliloquy about the Raw Torment of the Human Condition here, because (1) it would be Boring, and (2) I spent the last few days doing that. Don’t need to rehash it once again.

Just by way of letting my two or three Faithful Readers know that when I don’t blog for a few days (or call, or e-mail, or answer messages, or…), that’s probably what’s going on.

And so to jollier subjects!

If it’s Wednesday, it must be Pablo’s night! Jim and I have a weekly ritual: send the kids off with the g-parents for religious edumafication (much of which we have to counteract later), get dolled up (me, not Jim… o how I love eyeliner…), go downtown for a super-delicious, exquisitely thin-crusted pizza (the 255-8767) and a bottle of Palisade Red (locally grown, doesn’t suck).

Hooray for pizza! Hooray for wine! Things are looking up.

About Molly Newman

Writer, cook and trivia/spelling bee hostess, living it up in North Portland.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Riding the Roller Coaster

  1. Nancy (scrappyknees) says:

    Creative minds are often tormented minds. It’s what makes us all feel that passion…that depth of emotion that some people just don’t get. I must agree, there’s nothing a good pizza and an even better bottle of wine can’t fix, at least temporarily!

  2. Elaine says:

    You know I love you Reddy Mc Mollypants. Creative people by their very nature feel more deeply than others….and there is a definite downside to that! My favored comfort is a good cry followed by a nice cocktail, although my current “delicate condition” enhances the moodiness while removing half of my soothing tools. &(#$(#.

  3. abbya says:

    If the tormented mind brings creativity then I am missing out on a lot of creativity. I calling it slipping down into my black hole. I’m finally pulling myself out after a month and a half of being in it..

Leave a Reply

