Why are we letting these people out?

Warning: this is where my crazy inner conservative goes ballistic. If you have a heart condition which may be aggravated by reading law-n-order right-wing rants by people you believed to be tried’n’true bleeding heart liberals, you may want to skip this post…

John R. Tuggle was arrested in Wallace, Idaho today, a week after he stabbed his 12-year-old daughter nearly to death, abandoned her on the side of a road and fled the Spokane, Washington area. Tuggle was released from prison last year after serving a nine-year sentence for raping his 14-year-old sister-in-law.

Call me crazy, but it is completely beyond me why the fuck this miscreant (and his ilk, such as the pillar o’ society Joseph Edward Duncan) is anywhere other than a Secure Location (which he could share with Dick Cheney if necessary) far, far away from children, college students, retail workers, park rangers, gas station attendants, itinerant bodhran players and any and all other respectable members of society…

If I were an elected official of appropriate caliber, which I amn’t and probably will never be, the first law I would propose would be a one-strike law for all violent felonies against children. You like to rape kids? You relieve your stress by beating up your girlfriend’s toddler? We shouldn’t have to put up with you. Note that I’m not proposing a death penalty; we should just create a 100%-secure environment for confining these people who by freaks of genetics or bad child-rearing practices or whatever get their jollies by hurting little ones.

But it’s OK… the second law I would propose would be the decriminalization of marijuana, so I can earn back some of my lefty street cred.

About Molly Newman

Writer, cook and trivia/spelling bee hostess, living it up in North Portland.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Why are we letting these people out?

  1. Gwyn says:

    Molly, You’d have my vote, “liberal” though I am. Some things should cut across those red/blue lines, and this is one of them.
    But now watch out slamming us itinerant bodhran players! We’re not ALL bad, though our playing might be! 😉

  2. Jen G says:

    Molly for Pres! or Gov or what ever.
    I like your 1 strike law — you go girl!

  3. Helena says:

    I promise I didn’t see this before I posted pictures of my baby playing the bodhran.

Leave a Reply

