Shock and awe

are what I felt at Borders today.

No, not at the sheer power and multifarious tyranny of the corporate structure; not even at the massive remodeling project that will replace the dumpy li’l homespun cafe with a full-fledged Seattle’s Best.

No, no, Dear Reader… it was both more encouraging and more personally involving than either of these events. Rather, I was browsing in the much-maligned but ever-sirensonging Fantasy ‘n’ Science Fiction section when I came upon this:

For you see, I "met" Charles Coleman Finlay once upon a time (inasmuch as we can "meet" anyone online) when the two of us were participants in an online SF&F writers’ workshop. I liked his stuff, he and my Sweet Thang were both stay-at-home dads, we e-mailed back & forth a few times… the workshop dissolved, we lost touch, but from time to time I’d see his byline on the cover of the venerable F&SF and duly snap up the issue.

So of course I felt, upon seeing his name on the cover, as if I knew a Real Writer. Wow. My brush with greatness, topped only by having Tad Williams tell me my baby was cute and I should send my novel manuscript to his publisher. Oh these writers, what shameless flatterers they be.

About Molly Newman

Writer, cook and trivia/spelling bee hostess, living it up in North Portland.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Shock and awe

  1. Mimi says:

    Oooh, what a brush with fame!
    Is the book good?

  2. dalvarado says:

    very cool, indeed
    deb

  3. Helena says:

    Cool! My brother has a friend from the Leading Edge staff (SF/fantasy magazine at BYU) who recently had a novel published. Elantris by Brandon Sanderson. I haven’t read it yet–my reading time has been much reduced, sadly!

Leave a Reply

