Cabin, sweet cabin

Hail fellow, well met… at the Scarlet House, Silverton, Colorado. Your local source for free wireless access. The espresso machine doesn’t work (it’s having "emotional problems," according to the sign on the wall), but the tea is good. And did I mention the wireless is free?

Got here yesterday about 1 p.m. Wrote from about 3:00-4:15, 6:15-7:15 and again from 8:30-10:15. (What is up with all these :15s?) Produced a grand total of 2285 words. Zowie!

Here’s my humble abode/office/personal cafe for the next week:

Cabin1_3

Cute, i’n’t it? Freaking tiny, i’n’t it?

Hah. If you think it’s tiny from the outside, you should see the inside:

Cabin4_1

That’s my kitchen, the end of my bed (bunk-) and the left side of my office.

Cabin5

There’s the office, the bathroom door and the double bed (so-called because it doubles as a storage space).

Cabin6

Those are the bowhunters from Texas who were watching with amused interest as I lugged in my week’s worth of supplies (including three fine, fine bottles of wine).

Cabin2

There’s the view from my spacious front porch…

Cabin3

And there’s my trusty steed, which ferries me around town with only an occasional (okay, constant) pained groan from the derailleurs.

OK, back to work. Today–the end of Chapter 8 and the commencement of Chapter 9!

About Molly Newman

Writer, cook and trivia/spelling bee hostess, living it up in North Portland.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cabin, sweet cabin

  1. Gwyn says:

    You go, girl! I think it looks absolutely delightful myself, and I’d probably not get any writing done!

  2. Love it! Love the tiny cabin, love the view, love the thought of a week alone (love the bowhunters butts!) I am thoroughly jealous…The closest I ever got to that kind of quiet was a Residence Inn…in Cleveland! Maybe it’s time to use that free ticket and head up to a nice little lake in WA.
    Enjoy!

  3. Herm says:

    Bliss, utter bliss. I N V U.

  4. Mimi says:

    That looks wonderful, Molly! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

