Being the tenth chapter of said novel

Yippee-ki-yi-aye, I wrote another chapter yesterday. And added a Point of Clarification (ok, several) to Chapter 9. Total: 4475 words. About 300 words less than the day before, but that’s OK.

My Herm recommends Kitten Cannon for your amusement (warning: gratuitous kitten death). My high score is 449 feet. What’s yours? *No actual kittens were harmed in the making of Kitten Cannon, I don’t think, anyway.*

The days have fallen into an altogether pleasant pattern. Wake up, turn on the heater (for my wee cabin grows royally frigid at night), crawl back under the covers and wait for the room temperature to go above 45. Breakfast, then perhaps a bit of writing (though not today), then a soul-warming bike ride down the street to the Scarlet House for e-mail check and blogging. Then back to work all morning; lunch break; another bike ride for digestive and recreational purposes; more writing; a nap (yes! an hour of blissful guilt-free daytime sleep), more writing, some triumphant fist-shaking at the completion of a chapter, a glass of wine, another bike ride, dinner, some more writing or perhaps some reading (I’m working my way through an old favorite, Richard Southern’s Making of the Middle Ages). Then bed, bed, bed and some nice snuggly sleep.

I’m thinking I might need to overcome my fear of the big bad Woolf and actually read A Room of One’s Own. Amazing, the productivity that results when one is free to concentrate on what one wants to do! I’ve always thought I was just an undisciplined slacker, but apparently I needed to be free of distractions (housework, e-mail, squabbling children, amorous encounters, tempting novels, etc., etc.).

Heard just now, from George Bush, courtesy Faux News (WHY are they subjecting me to this muddled crap?): "Iraqis are registering to vote, many for the first time. Well, obviously, for the first time." OK, I can’t take this bullshit any more (he just announced, proudly, that the new Iraq "will treat all citizens equally before the law, regardless of gender, ethnicity or religion." This, about 3 minutes after his Supreme Court nominee defended his written opinion that it is not the place of the government to prevent things like discrimination by institutions of higher education… apparently, it’s just fine to forbid girls from playing sports and to maintain racially segregated dorms. Betcha thirty bucks none of Faux’s "expert commentators" point out this contradiction.). Rude as it may be, I’m putting on the iPod. Ahhhh, "Hizbollah" by Ministry. That’s much better.

About Molly Newman

Writer, cook and trivia/spelling bee hostess, living it up in North Portland.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Being the tenth chapter of said novel

  1. Helena says:

    Ohhhh, kitten *cannon*! I was trying to figure out what could be canonical about kittens.
    Sounds like you’re getting a lot done! That’s fabulous!

  2. Amy says:

    Yay, Molly! I think this writing retreat of yours is a fabulous idea. Hope all is going well on your book!

Leave a Reply

