Googlewhack,

which is pretty freakin’ amazing.

So, y’all are familiar with Googlewhacking? It is the art of finding one (1) result of your query at Google, the search-engine-of-preference-of-people-who-don’t-suck.

And y’all are familiar with the 404 error, which pops up rather irritatingly when you click on a dead link? Often, it brings up a stock page that starts "This page cannot not be found."

And my response to this is, virtually inevitably, "Your mother cannot be found."

Woo hoo! Google comes up with one (1) (ein) (un) (uno) result when the above phrase is Googled.

Now there are two results. Yay me!

(Actually, my mother can be found. But I’m not telling you where. We have too many friends who lust after my mama, anyway. Weird. But hey, at least they don’t think she’s ugly, which she isn’t.)

About Molly Newman

Writer, cook and trivia/spelling bee hostess, living it up in North Portland.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Googlewhack,

  1. Herm says:

    Okay, so I decided to try to Googlewhack “Amadeus has rocked me.” Nope, nothing–but Google helpfully suggested that perhaps I meant “Amadeus has picked me.” So I clicked on it. Nothing. Not a single hit. So why suggest it when, clearly, Amadeus has done nothing of the sort?

  2. Helena says:

    That is pretty cool. I thought, though, that in google whacking you use two words without quotation marks. Perhaps I was minsinformed.

Leave a Reply

