La domestique,

c’est moi.

On this delightfully cold (yet disappointingly snowless) day, I’ve been doing one of my most favorite things ever:

Puttering.

A little of this. A little of that. Making blueberry muffins for breakfast and breaking in my new Pampered Chef muffin pan. Cleaning out my inbox (the Weekly Review, for all you David Allen fans). Ordering a little Christmas cheer from my gift list (ahead of time and under budget, go me!). Putting away an accumulation of scrapbook supplies. And something that was really weirdly, inexplicably satisfying: dividing up a seven-pound pack of ground beef from Sam’s Club into one-pound increments, wrapping them tidily in freezer wrap and tucking them into storage.

Isn’t it strange, the things we do that give us a sense of control over our lives? Sure, I can try to change the world in my small ways–sponsor children in Guatemala and Sudan, send money to Doctors Without Borders, vote Democratic. 😉 But sometimes I just need to do things, cleanly and precisely, with my own two hands, that make me feel that I’m making an immediate and positive contribution to my own environment. Whether it’s wiping down the bathroom sink & counter while brushing my teeth (what did people do before Clorox Wipes?), hanging my pants and skirts and blouses and jackets in a neat little segregated line in the closet or taking tactile pleasure in the feeling of slick freezer paper sliding under my fingertips… making shopping lists in my very neatest printing, writing out a meal plan for the next ten dinners, turning all the containers on my spice rack so their labels face forward…

Some may call it OCD. I call it harmony.

About Molly Newman

Writer, cook and trivia/spelling bee hostess, living it up in North Portland.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to La domestique,

  1. Gwyn says:

    I get it. Totally. For me of late, it has been clearing away things by freecyling.
    Ah, to have a clear bookshelf or closet!

  2. Jenrigg says:

    I love it! Harmony, that’s the word for it. Just discovered your blog via that woman who’s altogether too happy, and I’m smiling. Peace!

  3. Mimi says:

    Oooh, I love my Pampered Chef muffin stoneware.
    Sounds wonderful! Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

