On play and playing

It’s Wednesday, which means when Rhys crawls into my bed at oh-dark-thirty in the morning and asks "Mama, is it a school day?" I answer "No, sweetie, it’s a stay-home day."

Which means that we spend the day together doing typical SAHMish things… housework, errands, cooking, reading, playing. Lots of playing.

Rhys’ current favorite things to play are Legos, blocks and combinations involving Legos and blocks. So this afternoon, after a rousing read of "A Field Trip to the Deep Sea," "Wolf Spiders" and "Funnel Weavers," we embarked on a massive castle-building project together on the living room floor. Rhys wanted to build a castle with "ALL the blocks," which takes up quite a bit of real estate. I complied, and actually spent quite a bit of time thinking about how to build buttresses (hee hee, "buttresses"), guard towers and similar architectural features.

Then our playing went the way it usually does:

Rhys: Mama, this is your guy.

Mama (accepting small Lego figure with sword, shield and ferocious expression): Ooh, thank you! He looks very mighty!

Mama immediately makes Lego man jump onto back of Playmobil horse.

Rhys: Mama, he’s too small for that.

Mama: Oh, I think he’ll manage. (brandishes horse) Ha-ha, me hearties! ‘Tis down to the brig ye’ll go!

Rhys (with amazingly adolescent eye-roll): Ma-maaaa.

Mama: Fine, I’ll just go  over here and sit on my iceberg. (seats Lego man on triangular orange block, pushes block around the floor. Sings.) Oh the icecaps are melting and I’m drifting out to sea, I’m stuck on an iceberg and I gotta go pee…

Rhys: MAMA! Can you please play real?

Mama: Honey, I’ve explained this to you before. This is the only way I know how to play.

Rhys: No, don’t play silly! Play real, like you did when you were a little kid. Remember?

Mama: Honestly, Rhys, this is exactly how I have always played.

Rhys: Maybe you should watch me and I’ll show you how to play real.

Sigh.

I am too silly for my four-year-old.

My six-year-old, though, has never complained.

About Molly Newman

Writer, cook and trivia/spelling bee hostess, living it up in North Portland.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to On play and playing

  1. Mimi says:

    Bwahahahahaahhaa!
    I’ve never been told I play wrong, tee hee.

  2. Gwyn says:

    He-he, I have fond but distant memories of messing with my boys’ heads that way whilst building lego and block realities!

  3. ElizabethW says:

    Love it. If I didn’t have sons, life would be so much less funny.

  4. Valerie says:

    can’t say i’ve ever been told i “play wrong”, either.
    HA! :o)
    on the other hand, my best friend’s kids want nothing more than to go to Disneyland with auntie “Vowel” (how Val comes out) because, per them, i’m “just a big kid.”
    high praise from a 13 & 8 YO. love it!

  5. elizabeth says:

    Ha! Funny, funny story : )

  6. Elizabeth says:

    I used to not be allowed to do different accents when I read. Though not very authentic, I’m sure, it’s still fun! Thank goodness my kids have allowed me to do accents again and have even started asking for them. And I’m still asked to not sing sometimes. I was offended when Hibi first told me not to sing when she was very little, but then I read that Billy Joel’s daughter was heard to plead with him, “Dad, don’t *sing.*”

Leave a Reply

