I am a grownup

So I was watching "Tricks of the Trade" on Fine Living whilst putting away my folded laundry (thanks, Sweetie!) and the topic was "Getting your finances under control." And one of the helpful tips was that 60-70% of people who call their credit card company to request an interest rate reduction actually get one.

So I said to myself, "Self, it is time to stop burying your proverbial head in the proverbial sand. You need to call and tell the credit card folks you don’t want to pay that much interest any more."

So I did. And in 16 minutes and 57 seconds (according to the timer on my cell phone), I got a reduction of 6 points in my APR. I have no idea how much money that’s going to save me, but it has to be something, right?

Wow. Can opening an IRA (which always makes me think of Ira Sleeps Over) be far behind? Am I going to figure out the difference between mutual funds and hedge funds? Am I going to care?

Errrrr… probably not. Oh freakin’ well.

About Molly Newman

Writer, cook and trivia/spelling bee hostess, living it up in North Portland.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I am a grownup

  1. Herm says:

    Remember how I paid off my credit card? Well, a month later I got a bill for $10–apparently, the interest on what I’d paid off. I sent in the $10.
    This month, I got a bill for 5 cents–the interest on the $10 in interest I’d paid.
    Next month, I fully expect a bill for one cent–the interest on the interest on the interest, rounded up.

  2. molly says:

    I think you should cut a penny in half with tin snips and pre-emptively send it to them.
    Isn’t “tin snips” a sonorously delightful phrase? Tin snips, cellar door, Cheez Whiz. Ahh.

  3. Mimi says:

    Oooh, tin snips!
    Congratulations on the rate reduction!

  4. Elizabeth says:

    Wow. I know that I understand Ira Sleeps Over better than I do IRAs. 🙂
    My method of dealing with credit cards is to deny that we actually have that much debt. I’d really rather not think about it long enough to call and get my rate reduced. 😛

  5. Congrats on the rate reduction! That rocks!

Leave a Reply

