2006 things to blog about

The title of this post could be punctuated in so many ways. "2006: Things to Blog About" gives a nod to the seasonal resolution trend. "2006 Things to Blog About" has that daunting ring of a long freakin’ list. "2006!, Things–to Blog; About?" is either brilliantly wabi-sabi or just plain stupid.

So these are some of the things I want/need to blog about. What do you want to hear about, and in which order? (Keeping in mind, of course, that these may or may not ever actually get written about.)

  1. The Brokeback Mountain pillow (very worthwhile, and there will be pictures! Also touching anecdotes of family togetherness!)
  2. Houses in Portland, and other things in Portland
  3. Powell’s City o’ Millions and millions and billions of Books, and what I bought there, despite having no disposable income
  4. My two annual traditional layouts which I need to do today or maybe tomorrow or even this weekend
  5. Digital Scrapbooking 5 and the joy of tearing out your hair in fistfuls
  6. Global warming and WHY THE HELL WON’T IT SNOW?!
  7. The Republican War on Science
  8. Ricky Gervais’ new podcast
  9. My new favorite color scheme
  10. Things Karan and I stamped (pictures!)
  11. Fisher’s personal cosmology vs. fundamentalist religion
  12. What’s wrong with Nevada?
  13. Upcoming travel plans: Vegas, here we come!
  14. The story of how Jim and I are going to get to go to DC for free
  15. Mike’s beard
  16. This girl I kind of know who is under the erroneous impression that HER child is the most intelligent, fascinating, creative creature on the planet, when clearly MY child is far superior to hers in every way, and how I pissed her off royally at Joe and Karan’s NYE party
  17. Cute funny things Rhys said/did, and his Grade-A awesome smirk
  18. Jim’s family and my family: a Venn diagram
  19. Nick Drake
  20. I like Trevor because he and I can toss Beastie Boys quotes back and forth with alacrity ("Like Sam the Butcher bringing Alice the meat/Like Fred Flintstone driving around with bald feet"). Shared cultural references are a vital touchstone of friendship. What other cultural references do we share, and why are so few of them at all intellectually elevated?
  21. Just when and why did Metallica commence to suck so hard?
  22. My favorite scrapbook store on the planet, and going there with my favorite scrapbook shopping partner on the planet
  23. Reunited with my teenage mischief-buddy via the Pic-Dem! Blogs bring people together and forge new bonds of unity. This is why they are Fine and Cool.

And today’s actual-ish topic-ish thing: a 2Peas lady named Jeannie liked the clipboard I made for Ms. Fitz. She liked it so much that she was inspired to create three clipboards of her own for her son’s teachers. They are cute as hell! You should check them out! Here they are. Mad props to Jeannie!

About Molly Newman

Writer, cook and trivia/spelling bee hostess, living it up in North Portland.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 2006 things to blog about

  1. Herm says:

    Yes, all of the above. May I contribute a Venn diagram?

  2. Mimi says:

    Props to Jennie! Great list, I look forward to hearing more (and about a side trip to the original home of Olympia beer, I’d think)

  3. Amy Sorensen says:

    (I am giggling at your sister’s comment…)
    Honestly, they all sound interesting! But #1, since I’m dying to see Brokeback Mountain (must.see.anything.with.Heath.mmmmmmm.) sounds intruiging. And #6 is right up my alley because while everyone in Utah seems to be so happy that it’s rained for the past week instead of snowed, my Global Warming Anxiety is wratched up to about 150% of normal. Didn’t anybody read Oryx and Crake? Or Mara and Dann? I’m guessing they won’t be so jubilant when we’re all frying and panting for water…

  4. elizabeth says:

    Ha. I was wondering the same thing about the snow seeing as how it’s 65º here in Colorado Springs today… ugh. Not that I don’t like warm weather, but I prefer it to come in the warm weather months.
    And Nick Drake… oh, do I like Nick Drake.

  5. ElizabethW says:

    Hilarious. I kind of wish I knew you….

Leave a Reply

