I did it… it was hard…

Huh-huh. I said "did it." And "hard."

Forgive me. I’m just taking refuge in some painfully juvenile humor after one of the gruelingest (?) days of my career. Going through these layouts and trying to decide which to keep and which to pass on was HORRIBLE. Utterly painful.

To everyone out there who submits to the scrap magazines and wonders why you don’t get called… oh my gosh. I feel for you. And honestly, it is often NOT because someone’s work is not "up to caliber" that we don’t pick it up. We might have more than enough shabby chic layouts already, or really be looking for more boys, or have already filled our unofficial quota for pages with quotes as the only journaling… but that doesn’t make it any easier to move something from the "Yes" folder to "Not this time" (I can’t even bring myself to have a "No" folder).

Now I really need to get away from the computer (until the Target run this afternoon, I hadn’t even been in my car since we got back from CA). My eyes are bugging out and my skin is turning green. Time to get my sick little Buzz from Grandma’s house and make him some warm apple cider… but at last the selection process is done!

(Huh-huh. I said "done.")

About Molly Newman

Writer, cook and trivia/spelling bee hostess, living it up in North Portland.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I did it… it was hard…

  1. Kim Mauch says:

    I don’t envy you, Molly, not at all. (Well, I do, but for different reasons.) I am amazed at the number of talented digital scrappers and it just grows each day. It has to be so tough to pick from TONS of “worthy” submissions, but we know that you have nothing but good intentions when you do. Can’t wait to see this next issue, I know it will be fab-u-lous. Kim

  2. Becky says:

    I can’t even imagine how HARD your job is (yeah…I said it, too!) But thanks for doing such a great job and providing us with a wonderful magazine in the END (yeah, I said that too!)

  3. Bree says:

    Looking forward to hearing who you chose for this issue!!

  4. SageHen says:

    I can’t imagine how hard it would be to choose X number of layouts from Y number submitted. It sounds like a nightmare.

  5. Mimi says:

    Congratulations on a job well done!

  6. I am sure you are doing a FAB job!
    Smiles,
    Wendy

  7. shanah says:

    I just wanted to saying thank you so much Molly for all your hard work and consideration of the digital lo’s. I am so grateful that your magazine is so obviously open to considering new talent……you can not imagine how much that means to the digital community at Peas. We have all learned together and supported one another. We all inspire and applaud one another. We love people considering digital yet another delicious scrapping tool on the dessert tray of life. So we are so honored and pleased to see a magazine who not only shares digital with the world but actually is very supportive of all the new talent out there. I can not tell you how uplifting it is to see so many friends honored with invites from your magazine….and how encouraged everyone feels just knowing that being an unknown does NOT put you at a disadvantage with your magazine. I am very honored and moved to have been one of the chosen lo’s. I applaud all your efforts and hope that we as a community buy enough of your magazines so that you can have way more slots open up so that every one of those deserving lo’s you viewed has it’s day in the sun. Thank you so much for lifting up a whole community of really warm and wonderful people…..my digital friends and I!!!! Warmly, Shanah Gordon

Leave a Reply

