Resurfacing for air

What a hell of a week.

Both in the good ("helluva guy") and bad ("the seething hell of a modern existence") sense.

Mom, Herm and boy-Herm were all here this weekend–a fine, if occasionally weepily outbursting, time was had by all. We stayed up late playing Taboo (gem of the evening: "Blank is the best blank.") and Uno (Draw four, sucka!), footled around with a variety of NYT crosswords and Sudoku puzzles (if I hear someone call it "soo-doo-koo" one more time, I will not be held responsible for my behavior), put together a draft of Uncle Pete’s obituary, ate a scrumptious lunch at Dolce Vita, ate a scrumptious lunch at Pablo’s, and had a delightful dinner at home (Brussels sprout-mushroom-cheddar pasta; actually quite good).

But for some unfathomable reason, Life does not put itself on hold for Death. So here I am, one week later, dealing with a slew of missed deadlines, looming deadlines, gigantic-but-possibly-lucrative projects and all those little piddly things like bank jaunts and postage and utility bills that fill up the day like so much air in a potato chip bag.

Really, there is not much to say. But I could not resist the opportunity to bemoan my fate briefly before diving back into the fray.

Oh, there is this:
Best. Personality test. Ever.

I’m a

 
What are you?

About Molly Newman

Writer, cook and trivia/spelling bee hostess, living it up in North Portland.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Resurfacing for air

  1. Hey beautiful sending you energy and my good thoughts and my new mantra Always live life with a purpose I know you will get it. Much Hugs Wanda

  2. Herm says:

    And I am a…Considerate Creator. Kind of like the Man upstairs. I think that means I’m like you, only less so.
    XO

  3. Mimi says:

    I’m glad you had a good time with your family working through your dear uncle’s death.
    Sorry about the looming deadlines.

  4. A ‘Benevolent Artchitect’
    This was a gas! The most fun I’ve had since the
    Myers Briggs Type Indicator (MBTI)..and pleasantly less Jungian.

  5. Laura says:

    Cool! I am a Considerate Director. I don’t like the sound of that much but the description is very accurate.

Leave a Reply

