That whole thing about iTunes…

…Well, I had to load up my iPod with as much music as possible.

‘Cause you don’t want to have to mess around with switching CDs when you’re cruising in your…

Blt1

…brand-spankin’-new Salsa Red Scion xB.

With iPod dock. Criticalest upgrade ever. There’s a "click wheel" right there on the stereo face so you don’t have to mess with the iPod itself while you’re driving.

We drove to Denver to pick it up on Friday (there’s no Scion dealership on the Western Slope and Jim called four dealerships before he found someone who could truck a red one in from out of state). Spent the night with Brother Ben in Boulder and ate the yummiest risotto I’ve ever had at a place on Pearl Street called something dumb like Trattoria Romana.

Drove back Saturday morning and got here a few hours before guests starting arriving en masse for Jim’s 40th birthday party (tomorrow’s the actual Big Day; happy birthday, sweetie!). On the drive, I came up with a fine new name for my fine new car: The BLT. (For Brave Little Toaster. Look at it! It looks just like a freakin’ toaster!) Picked the boys up from Jim’s parents’, took Rhys to the grocery store with me and discovered that you can fit $116 worth of groceries into a Scion xB even when it’s already got four boxes of stock components in it (standard stereo, stock rims & taillights). Party was lovely, a good time was had by all.

And yesterday we drove up to Cedaredge for the filming of a movie in which Fisher has a small, yet apparently significant part. More on that later… it’s a whole post unto itself. Suffice it to say that on the drive home last night after twelve straight hours on the set, Fisher asked, "How many movies do you have to be in before you’re a movie star?" Boy’s got the bug.

Some more pictures for your (well, my) enjoyment:
Blt2

It’s so TINY! And look at those fly rims!

Blt3

Cute little butt, sparkly little LED taillights.

Blt4

Heading home from Boulder. It’s got a teeny-weeny engine, but it keeps it at 70 over the passes with no problem. (And it’s already hit the magic 100. Hee hee.)

N.B.: I have never had a new car before. I have never owned a car fewer than ten years old before. And a week and a half ago, I had no idea that I was ever going to have a new car. So just let me revel in the awesomeness of this situation for a bit, ‘k? I promise I’ll shut up about it. Soon. Someday.

P.N.B.: There’s also another fine reason for the iTunes-a-rama, but I can’t tell you what it is yet. ‘Cuz I first need to make sure it’s going to happen.

About Molly Newman

Writer, cook and trivia/spelling bee hostess, living it up in North Portland.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to That whole thing about iTunes…

  1. Jen G says:

    AWESOME!
    truly, amazing and gorgeous. congratulations on your hot little number!

  2. Jennifer Adams Donnelly says:

    Cool car… so you’re getting your own CKU album track? Just a wild guess.

  3. Elizabeth says:

    That’s one sweet car! But you’re not the first to call it a toaster. Some friends in San Francisco got a silver one, and it looked even more like a toaster than the red. I definitely like the red better, though. 🙂 What kind of gas mileage does it get?

  4. Angi says:

    I have never owned a brand new car either. I *so* feel your excitement. Is that a hybrid?

  5. Herm says:

    HOT little toaster. I have a Christmas card idea: we park our cars next to each other (with wreaths on grills?) and take a photo. Cuuuute.

  6. dcjoe says:

    very cool. is there any way to get the car into the movie? or, failing that, rhys? every family needs at least two movie stars.

  7. Mimi says:

    Congratulations!
    I have an MP3 player in my car (not an iPod dock) and I LOVE it. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

