Burn, bridgey, burn!

So I just got an e-mail from one of the very sweet blonde ladies I know from MOPS, laying out for me the terrible dangers lurking on our upcoming November ballot–particularly Measure I, which will grant rights to same-sex partner couples. She didn’t even write it herself… it’s a "forward this to everyone you know!" from Focus on the Family. Horrors, teh gay!

So I responded, perhaps a bit curtly:

*****
Dear M–,

Thanks for passing this along.

I believe in protecting the rights of all families, not just those that look like James Dobson’s.

Please remove me from your political e-mail list.

~me
*****

So do you think there will be a chill in the air next time I see her? I’m going to have to move to Portland ’cause there won’t be anyone left here who will talk to me…

About Molly Newman

Writer, cook and trivia/spelling bee hostess, living it up in North Portland.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Burn, bridgey, burn!

  1. Mimi says:

    Snerk. I never assume I know someone’s political affiliation until they tell me

  2. Melissa Ives says:

    Oh how sweet of her to pass that on…*eyeroll* We have something similar on our ballot in Wisconsin. Unfortunatly no one understands it. The conservatives are making it sound like it’s to ban gay marriage, but it will take away the rights for many families.

  3. I give you major props/kudos for surviving in Focus-land. That would drive me crazy as I have a low tolerance for receiving political emails from anyone I haven’t requested them from!

  4. This is why I love you!! I will always stand with you!! You are my hero!! Hugs Wanda

  5. Herm says:

    Yes! Molly stands up for family values. Good for you. I probably would have raged internally, then clicked “delete”. And she would have continued to send.
    xo

  6. Jen G says:

    Love that you replied to her! I think your message was perfectly appropriate. Let us know how the next meeting goes!
    Jen

  7. Gwyn says:

    Yeah, we’re facing one of those constitutional amendments to legislate personal choice here in Wisconsin, and it kind of scares me to see what the polls are saying.
    People know better than to send me that stuff! I mean, this is the mom who is proud of her 16year old son for sticking by a friend who came out, because “he’s still A—, just so long as he doesn’t act gay with us!” No worries. Son is not A—‘s type.
    Good boy!

  8. Catherine says:

    right on sister!! I would not have been as restrained as you.

Leave a Reply

