Happy birthday to my favorite brother

(My only brother, but that’s beside the point. If I had more brothers, he’d still be my favorite.)

Benbirthday

Twenty-six years ago today, in a world just emerging from the murk of the ’70s into the neon Reagonomics glitter of the ’80s, in a ward somewhere along the green-tiled hallways of Dameron Hospital…

Et cetera.

Happy birthday, Bro. Hope it’s a terrific one.

And now, a gratuitous picture of my cat.

Ellameow

That’s Ella "Bella" "Princess" "Beautemous" "Silverfluff" "E-Cat," the gorgeous and ever-fleeting feline queen of the Newman household. Isn’t she really kind of uncommonly cute? Look at her little pink nose. Just look at it!

About Molly Newman

Writer, cook and trivia/spelling bee hostess, living it up in North Portland.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Happy birthday to my favorite brother

  1. Dawn says:

    happy birthday to your brother & your kitty has beautiful eyes!

  2. Herm says:

    She’s beautiful. And our brother is, too, in a most uncommon way. And hairy (though I think rather less so the last time I saw ‘im). Happy birthday to Ben!
    And: why does Ella’s head appear to be mounted on a black leather background?

  3. Mimi says:

    Happy Birthday to your brother, and adorable cat.

  4. Mimi says:

    Oh, and hey – I’ve been to Dameron Hospital…

  5. bioephemera says:

    Ok, this is an inane thing to say, but your cat looks exactly like my cat. AND my cat is named Princess Belle. You must admit, that’s just a wee bit weird!

  6. Julia says:

    Hello.
    I had a cat that died recently. She was short haired but looked exactly like your cat. Do you happen to know what type of cat this is? Please comment back. I would really like to know.

  7. RedMolly says:

    I’m sorry to hear about your cat, Julia!
    I don’t know if Ella’s really anything more distinct than a “domestic longhair.” We got her and her sister from our veterinarian; they were stray kittens brought in by an employee and we fell in love with them and decided to bring them home.
    Good luck finding a beautiful new kitty.

Leave a Reply

