Go, Dog. Go!

You know how you can look at something five million times and yet miss a perfectly obvious detail until someone else points it out to you?

That’s what I did with the the title of this children’s classic. I could’ve sworn it was "Go Dog Go."

But when Rhys asked me what the comma was for, I suddenly realized there were not one, but three punctuation marks I’d been missing in the umpty-seven years since I became aware of the book’s existence.

Yep. It’s right there on the cover. "Go, Dog. Go!"

And Rhys can read it.

His first-ever Real Book as what he can Read All (-most) By Himself.

Go, Dah. Go!

Technorati Tags: , ,

About Molly Newman

Writer, cook and trivia/spelling bee hostess, living it up in North Portland.
This entry was posted in Homeschool. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Go, Dog. Go!

  1. Herm says:

    Rhys has the makings of a fine grammarian/punctuanist. So proud.

  2. Herm says:

    Um, I mean punctuationist. And his auntie is a mad misspeller of made-up words.

  3. RedMolly says:

    I think the word you’re looking for is “punctuarian.” Or perhaps “punct-rocker.”

  4. Herm says:

    Or maybe just “puncter.”
    And why must the period go inside the quotation mark? No sense, no sense.

  5. Mimi says:

    That was the first book I read, he’s got good taste.

  6. summer says:

    Yeah Rhys! So smart, I wouldn’t have, or, haven’t caught that, in all the time I’ve been reading that book….

Leave a Reply

