Merry Christmeme

Via Mimi’s Books, ’cause I lurv Christmas:

1. Egg nog or hot chocolate? Hot chocolate with a little some’n some’n in it. And on Christmas morning, Brandy Alexanders (Brandies Alexander?).
2. Does Santa wrap presents or just sit them under the tree? If someone else knows how to get Santa to come over and wrap the #@$! presents, I’d appreciate the tip.
3. Colored lights on tree/house or white? Solamente blanco! (I don’t know how to do the accents or the upside-down exclamation mark thingy.) Except this year we’re putting the old-school big fat colored bulbs on our purple cruiser bikes by way of outdoor decor.
4. Do you hang mistletoe? Not since the year we hung it over the toilet in the house on B-40.
5. When do you put your decorations up? Earlier than usual this year–the first weekend in December.
6. What is your favorite holiday dish (excluding dessert)? Sear-roasted beef tenderloin, mmm mm mm-mm mmmm.
7. Favorite holiday memory as a child: When Daddy built the dollhouse for Hannah and me. My favorite Christmas memory ever: being up at midnight Christmas Eve with my mom and sister wrapping presents and hearing sleigh bells jingling outside. We ran out onto the porch and saw Santa Claus driving his horse-drawn carriage right down the middle of our street. And a newer, bittersweet one: Uncle Pete bringing in the tray of Brandy Alexanders as we tore into our presents.
8. When and how did you learn the truth about Santa? I was probably six or seven–young enough, anyway, that we lived in the triplex in North Stockton. I came tiptoeing down the hall on Christmas Eve night and saw my parents stacking the presents under the tree. Don’t remember feeling any particular disillusionment, but I do think I went and ratted them out to my sister.
9. Do you open a gift on Christmas Eve? Nope!
10. How do you decorate your Christmas tree? This year, we’re matchy-matchy all over the house with the bright retro colors (I bought Shiny-Brites for the first time last year and now it’s become a sickness). But every handmade misspelled lopsided kid-ornament still goes on the tree.
11. Snow! Love it or dread it? Snow is my best weather.
12. Can you ice skate? If by "ice skate" you mean "skid ingloriously across the rink on my ass," then yes, yes I can.
13. Do you remember your favorite gift? My black leather motorcycle jacket–I’d wanted one since I was little and Jim got me one the second  Christmas after we got married.
14. What’s the most important thing about the holidays for you? Being a certified 100%-ritual-free person for most of the year, I love the chance to jump neck-deep into tradition for a few weeks.
15. What is your favorite holiday dessert? Currently, these teeny-weeny very peppery spice cookies I made for Fisher’s class bake sale. Want some? There’s freakin’ millions of them hanging around.
16. What is your favorite holiday tradition? Gosh. All of them (see answer #14).
17. What tops your tree? A metal star that looks like one of those cool faceted stars often found on historic buildings in D.C. and Virginia. Because our house is steeped, teabag-like, in history.
18. Which do you prefer, giving or receiving? Giving, I guess; but my family’s exceptionally good at choosing presents, and I’d be lying if I didn’t admit to how much I love tearing into a package with my name on it…
19. What is your favorite Christmas song?
O Holy Night (either the super-traditional version or the Cartman version will do).
20. Candy canes: Meh. What the world needs is Curiously Strong Altoid cinnamon canes. Those, I would eat.
21. Favorite Christmas movie? "A Christmas Story," of course!
22. What do you leave for Santa? Spice cookies and hot chocolate with a little some’n some’n in it (see answer #1).

Read, respond–either in the comments or on your own blog–and spread a little unwonted cheer!

About Molly Newman

Writer, cook and trivia/spelling bee hostess, living it up in North Portland.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Merry Christmeme

  1. Herm says:

    You DID rat out the Parents Claus to your little sister, and she grew up warped.
    I do remember Mom and Dad talking about Santa Claus and feeling a little embarrassed, like, “Um, how long to I have to pretend?”

  2. Mimi says:

    Bwahahahahahha, um, yes, that is what I meant by ice skate!
    We’ll be at Chez parents from the 23-31 – so if y’all are interested in getting together somewhere around the 30th either up our way (perhaps your hubby would like to show you his HS Stomping grounds or down your way.
    We are also going to The City at some point, but no one has told me when that point is yet (I’m so not in the drivers seat about when and where we go on these trips)

  3. Melissa Ives says:

    Now cinnamon Altoid candy canes would be too good to be true…

  4. Jen Donnelly says:

    Oooh… thanks for the cocktail tips. You know I’m all over those. I’m sending DH back out to the liquor store to get some TM and the brandy…

Leave a Reply

