Rock on, me

So assuming I can count correctly (and oh, Reader, what a large assumption that is), this is my tenth post in ten days. Never before has the Pic-Dem aspired to such sustained verbosity. Party hats and Sidecars for everybody!

Also: yesterday (today, when I write this; yesterday, by the time it posts; unspecified-future-date, when you read it) turned out to be not nearly as incredibly dreadful as I thought it was going to be. Hooray for unborne-out paranoia! And today (tomorrow, future, etc.), my favorite Hippish Clothing Boutique is having a moving sale, and Laura and I are going to go have breakfast at the Crystal Cafe (Grand Junction’s girliest restaurant!) and then go shop until we, or our strictly limited cashflows, drop.

And now a piece of family dialogue which reveals our unfortunate prejudices.

Fisher: Mama, Hippie [his stuffed hippo] wants to kiss you goodnight.
Me: Well, I don’t usually let hippies kiss me, but… [bending over for a peck from Hippie]
Fisher: It’s OK, Mama. He’s not that kind of hippie that doesn’t have a job or something.

About Molly Newman

Writer, cook and trivia/spelling bee hostess, living it up in North Portland.
This entry was posted in Things That Happened. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Rock on, me

  1. Laelaps says:

    “It’s OK, Mama. He’s not that kind of hippie that doesn’t have a job or something.”
    Haha, priceless…

  2. Lori V. says:

    Ha! I told you that your day wouldn’t suck yesterday! 🙂

  3. Melissa Ives says:

    Ok whenever I’m fortunate enough to have children…I’m hoping they are as clever as yours. Congrats on the 10 days of posts.

  4. Lori V. says:

    Hey, Molly, is your posting streak careening to a halt?!?! Post something, ANYthing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

