The good, the bad and the absentee

So visiting with the family in far-flung locales is a pretty damn fine experience.

Except for this: one gets so far out of the loop that one doesn’t even realize how out of the loop one is.

Like this: it was not until today that I heard that the British hostages had been released from Iran. For a semi-serious news junkie like me, that’s pretty pathetic.

Also, I’m performing all online activities from an unfamiliar computer and have no access to my regular blog feeds (because I have set them all up as bookmarks and not in some aggregated Web-friendly place somewhere, because I am lame and lazy). So I have no idea what’s going on with my regular favorites. And it was totally news to me that Brian (Laelaps) had tagged me with the "Why do you blog?" meme. And now I need to think about it before I can answer it, because the offhand answer is "Um, derrr, I don’t know."

Also, I should really be engaged in quality family activities rather than hunkering over the computer up here. I can tell that at least one other family member thinks it’s high time I backed away from the keyboard.

So, while I’ve been strolling through the unsettlingly fluorescent-lit halls of the Shops at Georgetown Plaza and dandling my wee nevvie on my knee, has anything else interesting or important happened? That faux-Texan knucklehead’s still president, isn’t he? (Damn.)

About Molly Newman

Writer, cook and trivia/spelling bee hostess, living it up in North Portland.
This entry was posted in Things That Happened. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The good, the bad and the absentee

  1. Lori V. says:

    I’d say he’s more of a faux-President than a faux-Texan. There are a lot more just like him out here! 😮

  2. Mimi says:

    That faux-Texan knucklehead’s still president, isn’t he? (Damn.)

    Would that he wasn’t. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

