Help me use up my downloads!

So I’m on the 40-tracks-per-month plan at eMusic (if you sign up, use my name, thanks in advance for the fine free music), largely so I can get cool new stuff for each edition of RedMolly Radio (OK, so it’s technically called the Paradise Cafe). And this month, I have 25 or so unused downloads still to go. And a show this afternoon.

So what I’m wondering is… is there anything out there, brand-new or otherwise, that I should own and/or play and you don’t think I’m likely to own and/or play if you don’t tell me about it?

Highlights of today’s show are slated to include:

  • Jarvis Cocker, "Black Magic"–former Pulp frontman goes crazy with the blatant "Crimson and Clover" ripoff!
  • Pixies, "Alec Eiffel"–a smart aleck, indeed
  • Antony and the Johnsons, "You Are My Sister" and/or his feat.  Rufus Wainwright track "What Can I Do?"–short but sad, sad but sweet, sweet but bitter, bitter but short
  • Camper Van Beethoven, "Tania"–hooray for songs that give shoutouts to San Leandro and Daly City!
  • Toto Coelo, "I Eat Cannibals"–this product is intended for entertainment value only. Cape does not enable user to fly
  • Explosions in the Sky, "Welcome, Ghosts"–hear me violate my own rules against playing instrumentals on the radio!
  • Happy Mondays, "Kinky Afro"–does anyone but me remember these early-’90s Madchester drug-soaked geniuses?
  • Blur, "Song 2"–’cause Laelaps mentioned it and so I’ve had it stuck in my head

And what else should be included?

About Molly Newman

Writer, cook and trivia/spelling bee hostess, living it up in North Portland.
This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Help me use up my downloads!

  1. Jac says:

    Do you have any music from Mali? Habib Koite is a genius. Also, Putamayo has made lots of music by individual Mali artists available in collections, so I’m sure you can download it.
    At the very least: Habib Koite.
    xoxo,
    Jac

  2. Jen Donnelly says:

    Lately I’ve been liking old X and The Stranglers. Also The The- Mind Bomb had some politically charged stuff that’s all the more relevant today.

  3. Jen Donnelly says:

    Oh, and you did say new- I don’t know if it’s available yet, but there is a new song by Angelique Kidjo with support from Peter Gabriel that is joyous and pretty, with zero treacle. “There’s no smile like the smile on your face. There’s no joy like the joy of a soul coming in” Supposedly it is about birth.

  4. gina says:

    That song list is too much – song 2 was our ‘official’ wedding song, even if we saved it for the last song played. Happy Mondays – must find that cd and get it on my ipod. Pixies and CVB already are… can’t think of anything to add because I’m too busy replaying your list in my head.

  5. Laelaps says:

    It may not be your style, but the album Kezia by the band Protest the Hero is absolutely fantastic. Combine some technical, fast metal with soaring harmonies and breakneck time-changes and you’ve got Protest the Hero, and the songs “No Stars Over Bethlehem,” “Heretics & Killers,” and “She Who Mars The Skin Of Gods” are stand-outs on a great album. Like I said, it may not be your style but it’s definitely one of the better metal albums I’ve heard (and I typically don’t like the genre!)

  6. Amy Sorensen says:

    I don’t know what made me remember P.I.L., but they popped into my conscious mind a few months ago and I just cannot stop listening to “Seattle” and “Rise.” Camper Van B…I’d forgotten about them too, but geez, that was an AWESOME concert, lol (too many years ago to remember).
    I am currently in love with the song Cannonball by Damien Rice. It’s probably a little too…much for your list but as I am hoping that shyness will give me courage, I adore it anyway. Off to look at eMusic!

Leave a Reply

