‘cuz my homies are famous

The cover of yesterday’s local paper:

Freeperboys

We went to Junior Ranger Day at the Colorado National Monument last Friday, and there we encountered an intrepid young reporter/photographer.

Fisher will forever be annoyed by this reminder that for two weeks out of the year, he is only a year older than Rhys. (The caption reads "Fisher Newman, 7, and his brother Rhys Newman, 6, try out the rescue shoulder litter used by the Mesa County Search and Rescue Technical Team.")

Also: isn’t Fisher looking uncommonly handsome? You’d never know, from this photo alone, that not ten minutes earlier he was growling "STOP!" at me in his Exorcist voice as I attempted to restore some semblance of order to his be-dreadlocked hair. (Check out that sidelit dimple. That is so totally cute.)

Also also: doesn’t Rhys have the ultimate too-cool-for-school picture face? (He is too cool for school. That’s why he doesn’t go. That, and I’m afraid they would speech-therapize his adorable widdle ewwocutionawy impediment out of him.)

Also also also: family members (or those non-weirdo friend types who are interested), you can click on the picture to get a nice big version suitable for desktop wallpapering or something. If you’re getting tired of that darling little Augie picture you already have, that is.

About Molly Newman

Writer, cook and trivia/spelling bee hostess, living it up in North Portland.
This entry was posted in Mini Activities. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to ‘cuz my homies are famous

  1. Herm says:

    Oh my GOSH my nephews are adorable. That is all.

  2. Kate in NJ says:

    Your children are adorable!
    I just came over from “HA!” and
    have been reading all around your blog.
    The blurb on the left about cats caught my eye, and I must say I must get more of those!!
    I had no idea how very “un-Christian” they were!! One is clearly not enough.
    I also followed over to complain about the chocolate changes- thanks for the “heads up”!

  3. Lori V. says:

    Totally cute photo, Molly… those are some handsome kiddos!
    BTW, I thought you’d appreciate my irrational girl-squealing since I just discovered a moth on the inside lip of my tea glass! AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAGGGGHHHHH!!!

  4. Magpie Ima says:

    Oh my, what a couple of gorgeous boys! It makes me long for the days when my two boys were small and sweet. Now they’re big and stinky…it happens.

  5. Laelaps says:

    Aw, that’s great. I remember when the local library took a photograph of me with all my dinosaur stuff in a big glass case (I should get that back from my mom…). Unfortunately for me, however, the library somehow forgot to return some of my books and to the best of my understanding they’re still available at the Clark, NJ Public Library.

  6. Summer says:

    I love it when you get all sweet over the boys.
    You are going to have girls galore calling you house.
    Heh.
    Have fun with that!!!

Leave a Reply

