I mean, really, WTF?

So one of the reasons for being of the Pic-Dem is to provide a forum for utter pointlessness, a sort of polluted stream of consciousness that oozes down from the long-abandoned power plant*, tainting wildlife and leaving mutations in its wake. There is no agenda (except the GAY agenda!), no rhyme (haven’t got the time… anybody got a peanut?), rhythm (iambic, schmiambic) or melody (am I the only one who remembers My Melody? Apparently not… she seems to be spending her time these days playing bass.).

Hence, imagine my surprise when I read this snippet in an e-mail from my high school friend (whom, for the sake of his privacy, we’ll call Mr. F.).

Man, I should read your blog more often.  It’s an
interesting point of view that I really don’t share.

I suppose by that he could mean that he does have a defined point of view, or a firmly fastened opinion; or heck, maybe he just doesn’t think my kids are very cute. I mean, good lord, all I’ve been writing about is selling the house and working in the garden. Controversy abounds!

Oh, er, um, maybe he was talking about the last Tuesday Random 10**. Maybe he likes beer a whole lot and can’t stand to see it disparaged. Or maybe he doesn’t suffer from complete, utter and abiding personal inertia (considering he’s already had quite an active military career and is now hip-deep in civilian life, that’s probably true). Could he remain unterrified in the face of fluttering lepidopterans from the Planet Scary? I know what it is: he has no interest in acquiring either honest-to-gosh red hair or a smaller rib cage. Not personally, anyway.

So, "Mr. F.," I really want to know what it is that the Pic-Dem has so inadvertently expressed. Rest assured, I’ll take steps to keep it from happening again. And all snark aside, I’m glad to hear you’ve been reading the blog. Who loves ya, babe?

*where at least three episodes of Scooby-Doo have been set

**Yes, I know there was no Random 10 this last week. I had other things to write about on Tuesday of very pressing global importance, and it felt like cheating to make it into a Thursday Random 10, and then Thursday passed and we were really better off just pulling up our boots and going forward rather than stumbling backward into the past. Also, I’m grasping wildly for a workable theme. I thought of "Ten things you can have when you pry them from my cold, dead hands" and then realized I only have one iPod, and I’m perfectly happy to give up a wine bottle once it’s empty. Any suggestions?

About Molly Newman

Writer, cook and trivia/spelling bee hostess, living it up in North Portland.
This entry was posted in Pointless Rants. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I mean, really, WTF?

  1. Lori V. says:

    I’ll bet he doesn’t like fair-trade chocolate cupcakes with donkey sprinkles… or he’s a public schoolteacher now and doesn’t get the whole Slim Shady curriculum thing! hehehe

  2. azureavian says:

    or maybe he was refuting the negativity aimed towards yourself. i know *i* think you are beautiful and cool, whatever you think of yourself. he probably means the same.

Leave a Reply

