Just one car

So one of the consequences of our move to Portland has been that we are now a one-car family.

The public transportation, bike accessibility and general neighborhoodiness of the area make it easy to get done what needs to be done without having to get in the car at all… and plus our super-narrow, super-steep driveway can only realistically handle one car at a time anyway. So the Land Rover is gone, and we’re cruising around in the BLT. Which, as I discovered on the way out here, actually gets almost FORTY-FOUR MILES TO THE GALLON! if you keep it at 55 on the freeway and kinda draft the giant Penske truck your husband is driving. (Damn.)

We even lugged home the boys’ new bed on top of the car the other day. In the rain. We felt like such Northwesterners.

Next week, the boys and I are going to go on an Adventure: riding the bus to the central library downtown. Whee! Will we get soaked by rain as we wait forlornly at the stop? Will we neglect to signal the driver to let us off in the right place? Will we overload ourselves with books and be unable to make it back up the bus steps? Tune in and find out!

About Molly Newman

Writer, cook and trivia/spelling bee hostess, living it up in North Portland.
This entry was posted in Things That Happened. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Just one car

  1. molly jones says:

    So glad that you made it! City life can be so exciting. I recommend taking public transporation as much as possible all the walking keeps you thin:) I called the “T” diet in Boston. I’m so envious about the big library how fun!

  2. AS always you have an adventure in store, can’t wait to find out how it goes. It reminds me of when I lived in Staten Island, good old days. Hugs Wanda

  3. Zara says:

    Sounds like you are going to have so much fun running around and seeing all of the great things about where you are.
    GJ must have been missing you….rained and rained…..
    Take care of all of you! Miss you!

  4. Helena says:

    Woo hoo! I’m excited. I’ll be sure to tune in and find out how your trip goes. (Hey, we just had a public transportation adventure to the library too!)

  5. Vidya says:

    Is this your first time to the Central Library? I LOVE it, it is gorgeous inside, and the children’s room is adorable.

  6. Schuyler says:

    Because I can see you might no have been hit for this one yet: Tag, instructions here: http://waynforth.blogspot.com/2007/06/8-things-about-me.html.

  7. Mimi says:

    We only had one car for the first several years of living here in Oly.

  8. Lori V. says:

    Oh, Molly… I want to live there, too… I’m so freakin’ tired of Texas. (Besides, we’ve been in this house for 3 years, which is 18 months longer than we’ve ever stayed in a house before! LOL) Anyway, great new photo; I love it!

  9. Lori V. says:

    And, BTW, I think the public transport & 1-car family thing is FANTABULOUS!

  10. Elizabeth says:

    I really fought against being a two car family when we moved here. But Paul gets a car from the church, which he’s expected to have in case of emergency (of which there have been very few that would require him to get there *now*) and I am technically not supposed to drive it. So we went ahead with two cars. We continue the dialogue, and perhaps we could work out something sometime–like, there is a flexcar pod right across the street from the church, so Paul could probably use that when needed, and there are lots around our neighborhood, as well. As it is now, I don’t feel like I can actually justify using the bus system a whole lot, because if you’re already paying for the car, the insurance, etc. it’s actually more expensive to tack on bus fare on top of that. So that’s my conundrum. In San Francisco we only had one car and we made lots of use of the public transportation system, and it was great.

  11. Laelaps says:

    My wife and I have had to resort to using only one car now and then (we both drive old rust-buckets and each takes turns breaking). She has attempted to teach me how to drive a stick-shift so that if mine breaks I can drive hers to work (she works 3 miles away, I work 30 miles away), but I’m not the best student. Still, as much as it’s a pain to have only one car, we try to act like we have only one and drive as little as possible.

  12. Zara says:

    I see the new pick….ah, old GJ in the background! It is a great one of your though….
    I’m a one car family too…oh, that is right, there is only one who can drive. 🙂
    Sends pic’s soon???? Would love to see the house and some of the places you’ve been. Or want to go and look cool!

Leave a Reply

