Eighties-off! Part Deux

Here it is… the long-awaited sequel to the original Eighties-Off! Your suggestions for Eighties-Off! III: Return of the Son of the Eighties-Off! are welcome as always.

  1. The Pretenders: "Brass in Pocket" or "10,000 Miles?"
  2. Wham!: "Careless Whisper" or "Everything She Wants?"
  3. George Michael: "I Want Your Sex" or "Faith?"
  4. R.E.M.: "Orange Crush" or "Stand?"
  5. Bangles: "Manic Monday" or "Hazy Shade of Winter?"
  6. The Go-Gos: "We Got the Beat" or "Our Lips Are Sealed?"
  7. Prince: "Sign o’ the Times" or "When Doves Cry?"
  8. Prince: "Raspberry Beret" or "Little Red Corvette?" (Disclaimer: Prince is fully awesome enough to deserve two slots. The many moods of Prince, don’t you know.)
  9. Madonna: "Like A Virgin" or "Material Girl?"
  10. Elvis Costello: "Veronica" or "Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood?"
  11. Bauhaus: "Swing the Heartache" or "Bela Lugosi’s Dead?"
  12. Depeche Mode: "People are People" or "Personal Jesus?"
  13. Poison: "Talk Dirty 2 Me" or "Unskinny Bop?" (Disclaimer #2: We will not even mention "Every Rose Has its Thorn." We will not even MENTION it, so shut up.)
  14. U2: "Where the Streets Have No Name" or "I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For?"
  15. Red Hot Chili Peppers: "If You Want Me to Stay" or "Higher Ground?"
  16. Bon Jovi: "Living on a Prayer" or "Wanted Dead or Alive?"
  17. Tesla: "Signs" or "Love Song?"
  18. Tom Waits: "Singapore" or "Rain Dogs?"
  19. Debbie Gibson: "Foolish Beat" or "Only In My Dreams?"
  20. Crowded House: "Don’t Dream It’s Over" or "Something So Strong?"
  21. Thompson Twins: "Hold Me Now" or "Doctor Doctor?"
  22. Howard Jones: "What Is Love" or "No One is to Blame?"
  23. Stray Cats: "Rock This Town" or "Stray Cat Strut?"
  24. The Church: "Under the Milky Way" or "Reptile?"
  25. Pet Shop Boys: "It’s a Sin" or "West End Girls?"

Prizes, international acclaim, etc.

About Molly Newman

Writer, cook and trivia/spelling bee hostess, living it up in North Portland.
This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Eighties-off! Part Deux

  1. JillS says:

    Clearly, I was more of a top 40 girl…
    1. The Pretenders: “Brass in Pocket”
    2. Wham!: “Careless Whisper”
    3. George Michael: “I Want Your Sex”
    4. R.E.M.:”Stand?”
    5. Bangles:”Manic Monday”
    6. The Go-Gos:”Our Lips Are Sealed?”
    7. Prince:”When Doves Cry?”
    8. Prince:”Little Red Corvette?”
    9. Madonna:”Material Girl?”
    10. Elvis Costello: “Veronica”
    11. Bauhaus:no clue
    12. Depeche Mode:”Personal Jesus?”
    13. Poison:”Unskinny Bop?”
    14. U2: “I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For?”
    15. Red Hot Chili Peppers: “If You Want Me to Stay”
    16. Bon Jovi: “Wanted Dead or Alive?”
    17. Tesla: “Signs”
    18. Tom Waits: no clue
    19. Debbie Gibson:”Only In My Dreams?”
    20. Crowded House: “Don’t Dream It’s Over”
    21. Thompson Twins: “Hold Me Now”
    22. Howard Jones: “No One is to Blame?”
    23. Stray Cats: “Rock This Town”
    24. The Church: no clue”
    25. Pet Shop Boys: “West End Girls?”

  2. Amy Sorensen says:

    Yee hee, this makes me happy. Here’s what I think:
    The Pretenders: “Brass in Pocket”
    Wham!: “Careless Whisper”
    George Michael: Let’s go with “Father Figure,” can we?
    R.E.M.: “Driver 8” (because the lyric “children look up, all they hear is sky blue bells ringing” is just so lovely)
    Bangles: “Hazy Shade of Winter”
    The Go-Gos: “Our Lips Are Sealed”
    Prince: “Kiss”
    Prince: “Raspberry Beret”
    Madonna: “Like A Virgin”
    Elvis Costello: “Veronica”
    Bauhaus: I still always have to go with “Burning from the Inside” but that’s just me
    Depeche Mode: “People are People”
    Poison: “Talk Dirty 2 Me” (have I told you that I am shamefully, shamefully addicted to Bret Michael’s reality TV show on VH1??? I’m so embarrassed)
    U2: “I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For”
    Red Hot Chili Peppers: “Higher Ground?”
    Bon Jovi: “Living on a Prayer”
    Tesla: Duh me…who’s Tesla?
    Tom Waits: Who’s Tom Waits? What’s WRONG with me?
    Debbie Gibson: “Foolish Beat”
    Crowded House: “Don’t Dream It’s Over”
    Thompson Twins: “Doctor Doctor”
    Howard Jones: I refuse to vote on H. J. as his songs make me violently remember a horrible blueberry muffin experience…
    Stray Cats: “Rock This Town” The Church: “Under the Milky Way”
    Pet Shop Boys: “Love Comes Quickly”
    Thanks for making me type “yee hee” this morning. Now you know I’m happy. 😉

  3. Mark says:

    What an interesting face-off.. I find it interesting that you ignore many of the bands most popular songs (Bangles-walk like an egyptian, Pretenders-middle of the road, Wham-wake me up before you go-go) so it must be a music-quality face-off rather than which song you liked the best.
    A couple of ideas for III (pulled from my ipod): Abba (The Winner takes it all!), ACDC (though I don’t think Back in Black has any competition), Queen, Devo (Whip it), Genesis, Asia, Men at Work, Toto (Rosanna), Motels, ZZ Top, Don Henly, ABC,Alan Parsons Project,Oingo Boingo (Dead Mans party), Robert Palmer, Scorpions (Rock you like a hurricane)

  4. Mimi says:

    The Pretenders: “Brass in Pocket”
    Wham!: “Everything She Wants?”
    George Michael: “I Want Your Sex”
    R.E.M.: “Orange Crush”
    Bangles: “Manic Monday” (but it’s a squeaker with Robert DeNiro’s Waiting)
    Go-Gos: “We Got the Beat”
    Prince: “When Doves Cry?”
    Prince: “Raspberry Beret” I agree with the disclaimer.
    Madonna: “Like A Virgin”
    Elvis Costello: “Veronica” – but “Watching the Detectives” gets the top spot in my Elvis love
    Bauhaus: “Bela Lugosi’s Dead?”
    Depeche Mode: “People are People” (I particuarly hate Personal Jesus, actually. They’d way jumped the shark by that album)
    Poison: “Every Rose Has its Thorn.” (It’s a gulity pleasure, what can I say?)
    U2: “I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For?” but “Running to Stand Still” is best.
    Red Hot Chili Peppers: “Higher Ground?”
    Bon Jovi: “Living on a Prayer”
    Tesla: “Signs” or “Love Song?” – I don’t know either.
    Tom Waits: “Rain Dogs?”
    Debbie Gibson: “Only In My Dreams?”
    Crowded House: “Something So Strong?”
    Thompson Twins: “Doctor Doctor?” but again, “Fall Into the Gap” great.
    Howard Jones: “What Is Love”
    Stray Cats: “Stray Cat Strut?”
    The Church: “Under the Milky Way” While Reptile is amazing, I still remember the shivers of hearing “Under the Milky Way’ for the firs ttime.
    Pet Shop Boys: “It’s a Sin”

  5. Herm says:

    Elvis: I Want You
    Scary and good. Did Jim suggest your two choices?

  6. Jim Newman says:

    1. The Pretenders: “10,000 Miles?”
    2. Wham!: “Everything She Wants?”
    3. George Michael: “I Want Your Sex”
    4. R.E.M.: “Orange Crush”
    5. Bangles: “Hazy Shade of Winter?”
    6. The Go-Gos: “Our Lips Are Sealed?”
    7. Prince: “When Doves Cry?”
    8. Prince: “Little Red Corvette?”
    9. Madonna: “Material Girl?”
    10. Elvis Costello: “Veronica”
    11. Bauhaus: “Bela Lugosi’s Dead?”
    12. Depeche Mode: “Personal Jesus?”
    13. Poison: “Talk Dirty 2 Me”
    14. U2: “Where the Streets Have No Name”
    15. Red Hot Chili Peppers: “If You Want Me to Stay”
    16. Bon Jovi: “Wanted Dead or Alive?”
    17. Tesla: “Signs”
    18. Tom Waits: “Rain Dogs?”
    19. Debbie Gibson: “Only In My Dreams?”
    20. Crowded House: “Don’t Dream It’s Over”
    21. Thompson Twins: “Hold Me Now”
    22. Howard Jones: “What Is Love”
    23. Stray Cats: “Stray Cat Strut?”
    24. The Church: “Reptile?”
    25. Pet Shop Boys: “West End Girls?”

  7. Lori V. says:

    1. The Pretenders: “Brass in Pocket” (and I thought it was only “2000 Miles”…)
    2. Wham!: “Everything She Wants”
    3. George Michael: “Faith”
    4. R.E.M.: “Stand”
    5. Bangles: “Hazy Shade of Winter”
    6. The Go-Gos: “We Got the Beat”
    7. Prince: neither, really
    8. Prince: “Raspberry Beret”
    9. Madonna: “Material Girl” (Your disclaimer on Prince? That’s my vote on Madonna.)
    10. Elvis Costello: “Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood”
    11. Bauhaus: Neither… not a Bauhaus fan.
    12. Depeche Mode: “People are People” (Did you know Johnny Cash did “Personal Jesus” first, and that Marilyn Manson did the BEST version?)
    13. Poison: “Talk Dirty 2 Me”
    14. U2: “Where the Streets Have No Name” (though I prefer “Bullet the Blue Sky”)
    15. Red Hot Chili Peppers: “Higher Ground” (though I like their more recent stuff better)
    16. Bon Jovi: “Wanted Dead or Alive”
    17. Tesla: “Love Song”
    18. Tom Waits: “Singapore”
    19. Debbie Gibson: “Only In My Dreams”
    20. Crowded House: “Something So Strong”
    21. Thompson Twins: “Hold Me Now”
    22. Howard Jones: “No One is to Blame”
    23. Stray Cats: “Rock This Town” (but just barely)
    24. The Church: “Reptile”
    25. Pet Shop Boys: “West End Girls”

  8. Elf says:

    You suck. I’m tired, thrashed and just skimming, I need sleep, and now I have to interact?
    Ok …
    1. The Pretenders: “10,000 Miles?”
    2. Wham!: “Careless Whisper”
    3. George Michael: “I Want Your Sex”
    4. R.E.M.: “Stand?”
    5. Bangles: “Hazy Shade of Winter?” [Nice remake of Simon and Garfunkle, I despise remakes.]
    6. The Go-Gos: “Our Lips Are Sealed?”
    7. Prince: “Sign o’ the Times”
    8. Prince: “Raspberry Beret” (Disclaimer: No, he’s not.)
    9. Madonna: “Material Girl?”
    10. Elvis Costello: “Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood?”
    11. Bauhaus: “Bela Lugosi’s Dead?”
    12. Depeche Mode: “Personal Jesus?”
    13. Poison: “Unskinny Bop?” (Disclaimer #2: Thank the Gods.)
    14. U2: “I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For?”
    15. Red Hot Chili Peppers: “If You Want Me to Stay”
    16. Bon Jovi: “Wanted Dead or Alive?”
    17. Tesla: “Signs”
    18. Tom Waits: “Singapore”
    19. Debbie Gibson: “Foolish Beat”
    20. Crowded House: “Something So Strong?”
    21. Thompson Twins: “Hold Me Now” [I had to listen to both to decide…yes I have the album in MP3.]
    22. Howard Jones: “No One is to Blame?”
    23. Stray Cats: “Stray Cat Strut?”
    24. The Church: “Under the Milky Way”
    25. Pet Shop Boys: “It’s a Sin” [Duh].

  9. I’m playin’….
    1.The Pretenders: “Brass in Pocket”
    2.Wham!: “Everything She Wants?”
    3.George Michael: “I Want Your Sex
    4.R.E.M: “Stand?”
    5.Bangles: “Manic Monday”
    6.The Go-Gos: “Our Lips Are Sealed?”
    7.Prince (aka Genius): “When Doves Cry?”
    8.Prince (aka Genius): “Raspberry Beret” Side note: I SWEAR next time I go to Karoake I’m gonna sing “Kiss!”
    9.Madonna: “Like A Virgin” only because you don’t have “Burnin’ Up” here.
    10.Elvis Costello: “Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood?” Or maybe “Allison?”
    11.Bauhaus: “Bela Lugosi’s Dead?”
    12.Depeche Mode: “Personal Jesus?” Yeah, baby!
    13.Poison: “Unskinny Bop?”
    14.U2: “Where the Streets Have No Name” (World’s. Best. Intro.)
    15.Red Hot Chili Peppers: “If You Want Me to Stay”
    16.Bon Jovi: “Living on a Prayer”
    17.Tesla: “Signs”
    18.Tom Waits: “Rain Dogs?”
    19.Debbie Gibson: “Only In My Dreams?” Is that…is that…a new cavity?
    20.Crowded House: “Don’t Dream It’s Over”
    21.Thompson Twins: “Hold Me Now”
    22.Howard Jones: “What Is Love”
    23.Stray Cats: “Rock This Town”
    24.The Church: “Under the Milky Way”
    25.Pet Shop Boys: “West End Girls?”

Leave a Reply

