Encouragement for the unaccomplished, or at least a heavy dose of slacker guilt

Via COD, this article and video about Randy Pausch, a computer science professor at Carnegie Mellon, delivering his last lecture. A 43-year-old father of three, he has advanced pancreatic cancer and has been given only a few weeks or months more to live. He talks about the importance of determination, the power of cognitive dissonance and even why it’s best to let your kids write on the walls if they want to. (Fisher and Rhys: This does not mean you. We do not own this house.)

You all know my feelings about inspiration (which I initially mistyped "inspuration," probably because I was originally going to say "glurge"). But this one’s worthwhile; who knows? it may even spur me to get off my butt and work on The Book today.

Or at least to go take the pork tenderloin out of the freezer. I was looking at it this morning and thinking "I should thaw that out so we can eat it tomorrow." And then I closed the freezer, went back upstairs and returned to my regularly scheduled time-wasting behavior. Baby steps, baby steps.

Edited to add: The pork is out of the freezer. Can great things be far behind?

About Molly Newman

Writer, cook and trivia/spelling bee hostess, living it up in North Portland.
This entry was posted in Weblogs. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Encouragement for the unaccomplished, or at least a heavy dose of slacker guilt

  1. COD says:

    Hey, I’m 18 months into writing my book. I have 1.5 to maybe 2 chapters done.

  2. Stephanie T. says:

    Hey Molly…Thanks for sharing this. I posted the link on my blog this morning…I’m at a loss for words.
    ps
    I used to write poetry and draw pictures on my walls as a kid…man did I get in deep kimchee for that! My mother was an artist…no doubt there was a bit of cognitive dissonance lurking there!
    Waiting to see posts of your fairy journal creation!!

  3. RedMolly says:

    Chris: what’s your book about?
    Stephanie: Jim’s going out of town Sunday and I’m going to fairy-ize then. Really, I am!

  4. azureavian says:

    my parents allowed me to write on the walls as a kid, even tho we lived in a rental. they figured that the walls were going to be painted when we moved anyway..
    had my entire geneology up there as far back as i could get. and pictures that the spackle made in the wall. the ridges and shapes the spackle make made dragons and elves and funny faced men. they kept me company when it was dark, and sometimes the light shone at an angle thru the window so the men were only there at night. i drew them in from memory during the day.
    good times..

Leave a Reply

