A writerly day

Today is the day, hooray! The day I’m actually sitting down with a completed story and a bushel of crits and attempting to edit it into something with a semblance of publishableness.

From Wil Wheaton’s blog yesterday, in reference to this post of Neil Gaiman’s:

If Neil Fucking Gaiman can admit to feeling scared, if Neil Fucking
Gaiman can admit that, even for him, it’s a long hard walk, then I can
also admit that it feels like that to me every single time I sit down
and try to write fiction, and remember something John Scalzi said to me
during dinner last week: "Don’t be afraid to suck."

Today, man, me and sucking are like this. (Envision tightly crossed fingers here.) Except that the point of editing this story is to purge it of its suckatorial tendencies, and, honestly, if I didn’t think this story was OK, I wouldn’t be bothering with trying to polish it up and sell it, and suckity suck suck yeah.

Onward and upward, O Salamander! May your fiery embrace warm me the hell up, ’cause it’s freakin’ cold up here in ths garret.

About Molly Newman

Writer, cook and trivia/spelling bee hostess, living it up in North Portland.
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A writerly day

  1. Amy Sorensen says:

    Go, writerly Molly, go! You can do it! Hmmmm…guess I need to work on my clever cheering. But—GO YOU!!! And I love the quote, needed the quote. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Mimi says:

    Hooray, hooray! you go, Molly!

  3. Herm says:

    To paraphrase the book Mom’s reading: Write Like Your Pants Are On Fire!

  4. RedMolly says:

    Funnily enough, the story’s denouement involves someone’s pants–and everything else–being on fire. So I shall certainly endeavor to write in such a way. Ow ow ow ooh ooh ow.

  5. Helena says:

    I was compelled to google “bushel of crits.” Guess what came up?

  6. Helena says:

    Oh my word, I just saw the Chaucer blog link. I must show that to Doug. Ha!

Leave a Reply

