Wednesday Wandom 10: Fangirl Edition

Things that are making me happy:

  1. After the news of Dumbledore’s sexuality came out (ha ha) the other day, I was explaining the concept of fanfic and slashfic to Jim. He was, unsurprisingly, especially fascinated by the notion of taking people from different fictional universes and writing stories in which they play with each others’ naughty bits. Fisher heard the tail end of this conversation and piped up, "You mean somebody could write something like… Harry Potter and the Goblet of Sex?" It’s making me laugh every time I think of it.
  2. Our neighbors heat their house primarily with their fireplace. Their chimney is on the side of the house next to our driveway, which means that as I sit here at my desk with the window open (Fresh Air Fiend!), the smell of woodsmoke drifts through the screen and scents my whole office with fiery deliciousness.
  3. Jim and Fisher are competing to see who can finish reading (re-reading, in Fisher’s case) the Harry Potter series first. I think Jim beat Fisher to the end of Book 4. Our dinner table conversation now includes Fisher regularly interrogating Jim about which events he’s reached, or hasn’t reached, in the course of the narrative. Rhys (who hasn’t read any of the books yet, obv.) and I (who have read the first two and now feel honor-bound to read the rest) regularly shout in unison: "NO SPOILERS!"
  4. When I took myself out to dinner when Jim was out of town a few weeks ago, I met a woman at the bar (I always always sit at the bar when I go to a restaurant by myself) who is a fellow writer. We exchanged contact info and went on our merry ways. Much to my surprise, she e-mailed me less than a week later about getting together to chat… and this Monday, we had "lunch" (well, dessert in lieu of lunch) at Pix. She’s working on a YA fantasy novel… loves Neil Gaiman, Neal Stephenson, Bruce Campbell, comic books and video games… it was great to find someone to geek out with! Yay friends!
  5. The Wunderland Arcade. $2 to get in the door, then all the games run on nickels. First-person shooter mayhem violence excitement! (Yeah, we take the kids kind of a lot.)
  6. Jac and Mike stopped by last night en route from their weekend in Bend back to their Gig Harbor abode. Wine, cheese, merriment, child charades. ("Fisher: be Cleopatra! Be a gladiator! Be a giant robot with a nuclear butt!") They discovered a very wonderful thing on their travels, too: Benham Falls on the Deschutes River. Benham Falls! Isn’t that exquisite? (Herms: "Benham Falls. Is it hurt? Yes it is. Everybody’s glad.")
  7. Family in-jokes. And their complete inability to be explained to anyone who wasn’t there at their nascence.
  8. The word "disambiguation," as popularized by Wikipedia! Fun to say, fun to employ.
  9. Vampires, zombies, skeletons and other shuddery Halloweenish things. The only thing I don’t like about Halloween is the hideous "color scheme" enforced upon us by nameless faceless mavens of style(lessness). Black’s OK… but purple and orange, WTF? What’s wrong with just plain black, or maybe black red and white, and then we could all go dressed as the White Stripes?
  10. My brother is coming to visit us on Friday. I’m almost freakishly excited about this. How much happy Portland mayhem can we pack into four days? Stand by for news!
About Molly Newman

Writer, cook and trivia/spelling bee hostess, living it up in North Portland.
This entry was posted in Random 10. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wednesday Wandom 10: Fangirl Edition

  1. Helena says:

    Hey, let me know if you ever go up to the Gig Harbor abode. I’ll take you out to my friends’ house. It’s cool. 🙂

  2. Mimi says:

    Oooh, congratulations on a writing friend, giggling at the Chamber of Sex, love the idea of woodsmoke, and enjoy the Portland debauchery!

  3. Herm says:

    John Falls: A Better Men’s Shoppe
    That should’ve been the motto, even if it wasn’t.

Leave a Reply

