Baby steps, baby steps; or, when the Universe speaks, perhaps one ought to listen

So last night I was chillin’ at Mississippi Pizza Pub* with the fam, my friend Suzanne and her husband Howard. Suzanne is a writer, formerly a lawyer; a comic book and SF fan; and an all-around swell geeky kind of person. And the conversation turned, as it is wont to turn wherever two are gathered together in geekdom’s name, to comics.

I told Suzanne and Howard about my nascent-yet-languishing comic project, "Living Dead Girl." (Brand-spanking-new two-sentence description: "It’s about a young woman living in a crummy old apartment in Portland,
working at a boring barista job and coping with the stresses of
romance, family and housemates. Oh, and she’s a zombie, and her
housemates are, respectively, a pirate and a ninja.") They seemed to think it sounded nice. We talked about comics and comic book stores and the upcoming Stumptown Comics Fest.

Then, this morning, I saw a posting on craigslist from someone looking for writers who would like to be included in a "talent pool" of local comic artists & writers looking to produce fine indie stuff. Heck yeah, I would! Might be just the kick in the butt I need to finish the first issue’s script, yes?

So I e-mailed this fellow, and am hoping very much to hear back…

*Portland Spelling Bee, Round Two! Ding ding! Guess who spelled "iridaceous" correctly and came home with a fine new $20 gift certificate? I should’ve asked if they had any shirts in a size that fits me, ‘cos my original shirt looks rather like a burqa on me
.

About Molly Newman

Writer, cook and trivia/spelling bee hostess, living it up in North Portland.
This entry was posted in Portland, Things That Happened, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Baby steps, baby steps; or, when the Universe speaks, perhaps one ought to listen

  1. Magpie Ima says:

    We were wondering what was happening with your comic! Watch for my boys at the comic fest this weekend. The Dark Lord should be hanging out with the other Parkrose High animation geeks.

  2. azureavian says:

    hey that sounds great! also, dead barista girls? read: http://wapsisquare.com/d/20010909.html
    it is one of my favs and it does feature the lovely barista Tina. oh yeah, and she’s dead. also drunk teenager demons. yeah.

  3. Michael says:

    Awesome news Molly! I hope it does jump start ya on your project. I cant wait to see the finished product. Heck, I don’t have the patience for that. Let me see the drafts. I can imagine the rest. Must have now! Hehe. Oh, BTW, cleaned out old house, found Ninja Spoon. Interested?

  4. Ute says:

    Molly, I admire you… So cool, really. Keeping my fingers crossed for you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

