Happy day, you mothers

I hope a very lovely time is being had by you and yours (or "youse and you’rn," as some of us have been known to say).

My boys gave me a very lovely gold necklace with a wee red/brown stone and three teeny but 100% real diamonds. I’ve never owned a diamond before; I feel so fancy!

We’re visiting my parents in California, as are Herm, Uncle Joe and the inimitable Augie; also my brother Ben. A fine time is being had by all. Especially because it’s not raining. An unfamiliar brilliant orb looms overhead. Its rays are causing a strange darkening (Maillard?) reaction in my skin. I am uncertain how to respond. What can this astronomical anomaly be?

About Molly Newman

Writer, cook and trivia/spelling bee hostess, living it up in North Portland.
This entry was posted in Things That Happened. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Happy day, you mothers

  1. sam says:

    or, hope ya’ll are having a very lovely time, and it sounds like you are. We have dark skies and crazy wind while two brothers play with younger’s new birthday presents.

  2. Mimi says:

    Happy Mother’s Day.
    We always say, as we are squinting “what’s that shining orb in the sky?”

  3. Elizabeth says:

    Happy Mom’s Day to you, Molly!
    We just had some lovely rain. I really was glad to see it because it hadn’t really rained in awhile and I was thinking about having to water my garden!
    Have a great day!

  4. Helena says:

    I hear it’s a mass of incandescent gas.

  5. Given the state of the ozone layer, I’d say you should be ‘well done’ just about now. Cou[le more days and you could be extra crispy.
    You beat the heat kiddo…supposed to hit 97degress this week.
    Have fun!
    Ya know…if you EVER come through San Jose, I’d good for a bottle of ‘two buck chuck’

  6. Ute says:

    It was a lovely Mother’s Day indeed, although I didn’t bake to perfection the way you did. 🙂

Leave a Reply

