An unexpected obstacle

So I want to design cute holiday cards for other people and maybe make it so we can have a wee bit of a Christmas this year.

But in order to do so, I need some good sample photos. And while Jim does a fine job of documenting Portland's assortment of bars, heavily graffitied walls, scowling children and suchlike, his main body of work is perhaps not exactly suited to the average cheery photo card:

Uh-oh

So, ah, you see the problem we have here.

(Seriously, though, he's perfectly capable of taking nice-looking pictures of people. He just doesn't usually seem to feel inclined to do so unless there's a deadline and a paycheck attached.)

About Molly Newman

Writer, cook and trivia/spelling bee hostess, living it up in North Portland.
This entry was posted in art, sorta, Funny, Portland. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to An unexpected obstacle

  1. Herm says:

    That made me laugh out loud. I want it to be my Christmas card.

  2. Helena says:

    LOL!
    I have some super-cute pictures of Kate with a big ornament, if you’d like to use those.

  3. aprila says:

    I came on here to re-read your ‘bean’ post so I can attempt to make a pot of unsoaked beans tonight and laughed so hard I about peed my pants. Freaking Hilarious! I love the fridge note. Thanks for the laugh and if you need unrealistic, posed, superficial photos of supposedly bright and cheery kids, you know I’ve got thousands! 🙂 Miss you already.

  4. Suzy says:

    I’d much rather have these for Christmas cards than the sappy candy cane variety. At least the dog is just licking his chops, and not anywhere else. 🙂

Leave a Reply

