Baby, baby

Got this quiz from my KAFM buddy Suzi Creme Cheeze and thought I'd pass it along, especially since I know there are some knocked-up ladies among the current readership.

The idea is to answer these questions as they pertain to your pregnancy with & the birth of your first baby… please play if you feel so inclined.

1. Were you married at the time?
Yeppers

2. What was your reaction when you
found out you were pregnant?

"Holy shit." And Jim almost passed out.

3. How old were you?
23

4. How did you find out you were
pregnant?

I was puking like a madwoman and decided to pee on the stick before going to a family friend's wedding where I knew there would be copious drinking. Good thing I did, too.

5. Whom did you tell first?
Jim, I think coincidentally with my sister, with whom we were sharing a house at the time

6. Did you want to find out the sex?
Heck yeah!

7. Due date?
I really don't remember. Late April, I think.

8. Did you deliver early or late?
Late… I think almost 2 weeks late. Blah!

9. Did you have morning sickness?
Nope. More like all-freakin-day sickness. Again, blah!

10. What did you crave?
Chocolate milkshakes, which my doctor prescribed for me after I lost 14 pounds in the first trimester

11. Who irritated you the most?
The boss-lady and the boss-man, both of whom seemed to regard pregnancy as some sort of odd aberration practiced chiefly by remote jungle tribes and certainly never by anyone with a college education

12. What was your first child's sex?
100% noisy-ass boy

13. How many pounds did you gain
throughout the pregnancy?

Way too many, and they all seemed to be in the face… attraaaaactive!

14. Did you have any complications
during your pregnancy?

Not unless pukin' is a complication

15. Where did you give birth?
Dominican Hospital in Santa Cruz

16. How many hours were you in labor?
I went in to be induced (by having my water broken) at 8 a.m., went into labor at about 10 a.m. and had Fisher at 1:51 p.m. …so not very many

17. Who drove you to the hospital?
My beloved sweetie

19. Was it natural or c-section?
Natural

20. Did you take medicine to ease the
pain?

Not a bit, she said smugly.

21. How much did your child weigh?
8 lbs 3 oz

22. Did your child have any
complications?

He was born with the cord wrapped around his neck but got over that pretty quickly. Other than that, no. He was breastfeeding and looking me straight in the eye within about 10 minutes. But they kept taking him away and putting him on the little warmer-upper thing, much to my annoyance, until they finally realized he was doing a better job staying warm when he was naked & skin-to-skin with me under the blankets. Snuggle power, baby!

23. What did you name him/her?
Fisher Aloysius–say it right, say it with pleasure!

24. How old is your first born today?
Nine

25. Whom does your child look like?
His beloved Papa

About Molly Newman

Writer, cook and trivia/spelling bee hostess, living it up in North Portland.
This entry was posted in Memes. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Baby, baby

  1. Herm says:

    Fun! Though my answers are shockingly similar to yours, with a few exceptions.
    1. Were you married at the time?
    Indeed.
    2. What was your reaction when you found out you were pregnant?
    Oh, good. Now I can stop trying to find new drugstores at which to buy p. tests. (It was getting embarrassing).
    3. How old were you?
    28 at the beginning, 29 at the end.
    4. How did you find out you were pregnant?
    Thin blue line.
    5. Whom did you tell first?
    Joe. It was on Father’s Day. And then Mom, who was visiting.
    6. Did you want to find out the sex?
    Yes. No self-control. And I hope to find out about #2 tomorrow.
    7. Due date?
    March 1.
    8. Did you deliver early or late?
    9 days late.
    9. Did you have morning sickness?
    Not much.
    10. What did you crave?
    Sauerkraut. Same this time. I know–gross.
    11. Who irritated you the most?
    Hmmm…I don’t remember irritation. Just flowers and sunshine and kittens.
    12. What was your first child’s sex?
    All boy.
    13. How many pounds did you gain throughout the pregnancy?
    26
    14. Did you have any complications during your pregnancy?
    Nope. Except itchy skin.
    15. Where did you give birth?
    Georgetown University Hospital, DC
    16. How many hours were you in labor?
    9ish.
    17. Who drove you to the hospital?
    My beloved husband
    19. Was it natural or c-section?
    Natural
    20. Did you take medicine to ease the pain?
    Not even a Tylenol, she added smugly to her sister’s smug answer.
    21. How much did your child weigh?
    8 lbs 14 oz
    22. Did your child have any complications?
    Nope.
    23. What did you name him/her?
    August James.
    24. How old is your first born today?
    20 months.
    25. Whom does your child look like?
    His beloved Daddy. Like twins separated by a few decades.

  2. Mimi says:

    smugly, she says I had both of my naturally, my second one at home.
    LOVE Fisher’s middle name, that rocks the house! Great meme!
    Except if I did it on my blog, I’d advertise to everyone my unmarriedness at the time.

  3. Summer says:

    Caden was 2 weeks late and weighed 8lbs. 3oz.
    🙂

  4. Melissa says:

    Fun meme! I’ll have to do this one although I won’t be able to answer most of the questions until May or June!

Leave a Reply

