If you don’t have something nice to say…

…don't say anything. (Or, as I imagine my Grammy might have said, "Come sit next to me.")

Also, if all you're going to blog about is how you haven't been blogging… yeah, don't bother.

Anyway: I am still unemployed, increasingly frustrated & bitter, and also starting to swing wildly between grandiose hopes for future plans and utter despair at the thought of never earning another dime. Which is in & of itself inaccurate, since I did in fact score a gig as the moderator of the Portland Youth Spelling Bee, the junior version of our family's favorite Monday night pastime (which I finally! won again last night after a long freakin' dry spell… "T-O-R-O-I-D-A-L" FTW!). Spelling for kids! Coming to a pizza place near you in January, if you happen to live in Portland at least.

In happier news, we went for a walk at the Oaks Bottom Wildlife Refuge a couple days ago and saw an honest-to-gosh bald eagle. No matter how many times you see one, it's always kinda cool (except for that one frightening Stephen Colbert segment about the hundreds of bald eagles congregated, seagull-like, on some weird woman's lawn in Alaska).

And finally, I have repackaged a couple of videos (and by couple, I do in fact mean "two") demonstrating different Photoshop/Photoshop Elements techniques & uploaded them to YouTube. I'm planning another one on skin-softening techniques and will let you know when that one's up too. If you have any requests for how to do a specific sort of retouching or photo editing, I would be delighted to see what I can do to fulfill them.

About Molly Newman

Writer, cook and trivia/spelling bee hostess, living it up in North Portland.
This entry was posted in Things That Happened. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to If you don’t have something nice to say…

  1. I’ve been using blip.tv for my screencasts:
    It allows longer videos and higher resolutions, and automaticaly converts from QuickTime (I’m on a Mac) to Flash or others.

  2. Elizabeth says:

    When in January is the youth spelling bee? The M. pizza site says 12/31. Is that correct? Both my kids would be interested in participating–esp. with you moderating!–but Hibi (now going back to her birth name of Carissa) is busy that night. Too bad. Oh, she’s saying now she can leave early. You can tell how much she’d like to participate because it would be leaving from an anime convention! and she’d have to go in costume. 🙂
    Sorry about all the sucky things in your life and here’s hoping things will be looking up for you soon.

  3. You will find work! I know it. Don’t give up.

Leave a Reply

