Not dead yet

…not quite, anyway.

I got a line of dialogue stuck in my head during my shower the other evening. Got out, toweled off, tucked myself into bed and the line was still there.* All I could do was grab a notebook and write it down.

Then that led to another line. And another. And a couple sparse notes of description. And the next thing I knew, I had the first scene of a comic book script, and it occurred to me:

I haven't done any writing for which I'm not getting paid** in a long, long time. That means nothing creative, nothing unusual, nothing non-mercenary. Including this blog. And perhaps my life might be slightly the poorer for it.

So… yeah, spammers be damned! I have deleted your ridiculous weight loss/sex aid comments and am returning to the fray, standard held high, eyes a-blazing! Huzzah, or something!

* In case you want to know, it's "Not much left here. A bone; a bone; a paring. Let's be gone."

** Except for my work for CK Media, for which I'm supposed to be getting paid but from which I haven't seen a check since December. Ha ha! Giant stumbling corporation failing to pay its reliable freelance drone; it is to laugh!
About Molly Newman

Writer, cook and trivia/spelling bee hostess, living it up in North Portland.
This entry was posted in Things That Happened. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Not dead yet

  1. Herm says:

    Wahoo! She’s back. I’ve been having similar thoughts about my own writing. Shall we do another (but more successful) dual writing challenge?

  2. oooooooh a comic book script exciting!!! and yes…don’t get me started on CK media and paying…arg.

  3. Helena says:

    Well, good! (I hope CK pays you!)

  4. Amanda says:

    Insert ridiculous weight loss/sex aid comment here. 🙂
    I *love* the line you quoted and would be delighted to read more!
    (Sorry, I stalked you over here from your Facebook…)

  5. heidikins says:

    I am very interested in this CK debacle…please do tell.
    Also – I MISSED YOU! DON’T EVER GO AWAY AGAIN!!
    xox

  6. pcsmart says:

    oh great – now i have a line of dialogue stuck in MY head….”i’m not dead yet, i feel fine, i think i’ll go for a walk”. good to see you back among the blogging

  7. Oh my… she’s back. 🙂 Lovely. Welcome, welcome. Bloggy land has missed you.

  8. Rachel says:

    Ahhhh! I sorely missed these. Thanks, Moll!

  9. Shady Lady says:

    Yay! I decide to follow your blog and you stop posting. I’m glad to finally read something new!

  10. Mimi says:

    It’s hard to both blog and Facebook, isn’t it?
    Boo hiss to CK.

  11. gillian says:

    So glad you’re back! I’ve really enjoyed reading your blog in the past.
    Gillian
    Vancouver and Montreal

  12. michele says:

    “huzzah” is correct, ma’am!

  13. sam says:

    While I did miss what you generally have to say around here, Fb is fun too.
    I used to think of myself as a writer whether or not I was attempting to write something. It always felt a little dishonest, but that’s probably something in my head.
    Lately I just hate everything I write. Hell, I hate this comment. I might not even post it I hate it so much.
    But you’re cool, so that’s something.

  14. Elf says:

    Oh, it Lives!
    Heck, I even thought I saw a shadow of a Molly run across my IM Contacts the other day.

Leave a Reply

