3. Semi-quasi-drunken salmon potato chowder

 Soup-04-02

So, I bet you thought I forgot to blog my soup today, yes?

Ha! It is to laugh! I do not forget to make a soup. I only make it late in the evening and serve it at 1:15 to my beloved drinking buddies who hang out with me of a Monday night.

After you've been out sipping hot toddies and avoiding the embraces of hippies named Daniel (yes, I'm talking to you, Miss Angel) and drinking ill-advised tequila shots and oh, having a fabulous time at the Portland Spelling Bee, this soup will restore whatever spring is missing from your step. And if there's already plenty o' spring in your step, this soup will turn you into a one-woman disco inferno.

Suggested soundtrack: Iggy and the Stooges, and nothing else.

Salmon-Potato Chowder
Serves 4, theoretically, but 8 of us ate it and no one complained.

3 slices decent bacon, chopped
1 onion, chopped
2 stalks celery, chopped
4 potatoes, peeled and chopped into 1" pieces
S&P, and plenty of 'em
1 cup water
2 cups milk
1 pound skinless salmon fillet, cut into 1" pieces*
1 Tbsp butter
1/4 cup chopped fresh dill

Heat a soup pot over medium heat; add bacon. Cook until just crisp. Remove with a slotted spoon to a plate lined with paper towels; set aside.

Add onion, celery, potatoes and salt and pepper to pot. Cook until onion is barely tender, about 5 minutes. Add water. Bring to a boil; cover, reduce heat and simmer until potatoes are just tender, about 10 minutes.

Add milk; return to a simmer; add salmon, butter and dill and cook until salmon is just cooked through, about 5 minutes.

Ladle into shallow plates. Sprinkle cooked bacon overtop. Serve forth to much acclaim. Acclaim will be greater if your friends are drunk. Your friends are greater if they are (a) drunk, and (b) willing to come to your house for salmon-potato chowder at 1 a.m. so that you don't mess up your stuntblog.

I love you guys with all the love I have to give. Mwah.

*A funny thing to see: a semi-drunk girl cutting the skin off a decidedly non-skinless salmon fillet. Hahaha. Hilarity ensues. Ow. My thumb. My fingers.

Soup-05

About Molly Newman

Writer, cook and trivia/spelling bee hostess, living it up in North Portland.
This entry was posted in Recipes, Soup 365 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 3. Semi-quasi-drunken salmon potato chowder

  1. Angel O'Brien says:

    For all the imbibification and debauchery that might potentially occur on a Monday night, tis heaven to be summarily rewarded with a mean bowl of chowder prepared by one very beautiful Molly! Thanks again for your indubitable hospitality!

  2. The image may be a little bit blurry but it is still clear that your soup is very special because of the comment above. Thanks for sharing your magical recipe. I hope I could follow the instructions well. Thanks again and more power.

  3. Hannah says:

    Deeeeeelicious. I just told a friend tonight, “I love having friends who can whip together a soup in 30 minutes, and will do it just because we’ve been drinking and need nourishment.” My friend gave me a good long stare, and said, “I don’t think I’ve ever had a friend like that.” We’re lucky to have you, Miss Molly!

  4. Munkypunks says:

    I’m fairly certain you can never go wrong with dill and creamy (freudian typo there – that almost came out as dreamy) anything!! This soup certainly supports my theory! Making any soup in 45 minutes is pretty impressive and slightly sloshed is quite a feat. And really, speaking of sloshed, the wine glass in the photo makes the picture! (I can’t believe I went the whole evening without making some wine snob comment about that. Surprisingly, I was willing to hope it was a pinot and let it go.)
    Hannah, given your culinary skills, you should stare back at that friend and say, “you would if you deserved one.”

Leave a Reply

