51. Don’t bother: Broccoli-Cheese Soup

After fifty soups in fifty days, it was bound to happen: a giant meh. Not awful, just not interesting.

Let me qualify this, though: I served it to five other people, all of whom ate it up. I was the only one overwhelmed by meh-itude.

Were I to make this again (unlikely), I would go ahead and make it a more traditional cheese soup with a more robust cream base; I would also forgo the frankly boring medium Cheddar in lieu of something with a bit more there there. Gruyere, I think, maybe.

Anyway: a meh soup for a meh day. Try serving this sometime when you've got a bevy of houseguests who just won't leave. Or if your kid has just brought home a subpar report card, or your significant other person has screwed up on the bill-paying again, or you have some other reason to express your displeasure in an extremely passive-aggressive fashion. Hmm. Maybe I'll make this again tonight.

Broccoli-Cheese Soup a la Meh
Serves… too many.

4 Tbsp butter
1 medium onion, chopped
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp red pepper flakes
3 Tbsp flour
5 cups vegetable or chicken broth
1 pound broccoli crowns, chopped
1/4 cup chopped flat-leaf parsley
1/2 cup cream
2 cups shredded cheese–I used medium Cheddar and would advise against doing the same
Ground black pepper

Melt the butter in a soup pot over medium heat; add onion, salt and red pepper flakes and cook, stirring occasionally, until tender, about 5 minutes. Add flour and cook, stirring, a few minutes more, until flour loses its raw look/smell.

Whisk in broth. Add broccoli, parsley and cream; bring to the verge of a boil; reduce heat, cover, and simmer until broccoli is tender–this is subjective, so anywhere from about 7 to as many as 20 minutes will do it.

Uncover pot and increase heat to medium. Whisk in cheese, a little at a time, stirring each addition until melted. Taste and add salt and pepper as needed.

Bet you ten bucks this would have been substantially better with bacon.

About Molly Newman

Writer, cook and trivia/spelling bee hostess, living it up in North Portland.
This entry was posted in Food and Drink, Recipes, Soup 365, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 51. Don’t bother: Broccoli-Cheese Soup

  1. Angel O'Brien says:

    Having been fortunate enough to be in the vicinity of not only the soup pot, but also the viewing of Fandango, I consider myself a lucky gal. I liked the soup, Molly! It perhaps wasn’t the most spectacular creation that has ever proffered from your culinary lab, but I really liked it. I also give thanks for making it veg in my honor, I always greatly appreciate it when my friends forego bacon on my accord. I understand the sacrifice and the love being put forth.
    I really liked that the soup was cheesy, had cheese bits and the like, but wasn’t as if I was drowning in a bowl of melted cheese (although, that could have it’s benefits, too).
    : )

  2. Heh…you said bacon!

Leave a Reply

