Meer Katrianity

This morning I got to interview a scientist from Cambridge University about social behavior in meerkats. Sadly, I didn’t get to ask him my version of C.S. Lewis’ famous "triple dilemma" question: "Liars, lunatics or just plain lovable?"

I really want to be a Real Journalist when I grow up, but I fear that if I don’t start sounding like less of an idiot when I interview people, this brilliant career will be spectacularly derailed. Though he didn’t seem too fazed when I asked him to tell me about something funny he had seen a meerkat do. (And it was pretty darn funny, too.)

Buznano1
Fisher turned eight yesterday. It was sort of a low-key birthday, since all four of us except Rhys are varying degrees of sick right now. He got an iPod nano–to my eternal amazement and delight, I think we may have accidentally stumbled on the one way to make the kid stop talking for a few minutes. Permanent hearing damage is such a small price to pay, really, for a little peace and quiet.

About Molly Newman

Writer, cook and trivia/spelling bee hostess, living it up in North Portland.
This entry was posted in Science. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Meer Katrianity

  1. Amy Sorensen says:

    Nathan is my talker…and I hear you on just wanting to get him to be QUIET. Glad Fisher found something great for his birthday and I hope you are all feeling better soon! (PS, I finished March—did you yet?)

  2. Herm says:

    You need to stop feeding that boy so many cute pills.
    And I love the tags at the end. C.S. Lewis + meerkats= laff riot!

  3. Jen Donnelly says:

    Meerkats? This would be for Digital Meerkat Quarterly, then?

  4. Lori V. says:

    Hippo birdies to Fisher, too! ;-P

Leave a comment